Search

Showhorse.com Forum · Beginner Forum

Replies in this thread : 4

Author Topic : New to ShowHorse
 DemiGod Stables
Premium Member

System.__ComObject
8/20/2016 10:02:25 AM reply with quote send message to DemiGod Stables Object to Post   

I am new to ShowHorse. I have a very successful ranch on ShowCattle and did play ShowDog a few years ago. I'm looking to have success with the horses.
Currently I have Arabians, Quarter Horses and Thoroughbreds.
I have a question about Western Pleasure, English Pleasure and Cutting.
I believe I read that WP is at age 2 and EP and C are at age 3. Can a horse enter these events before reaching that age to get experience?
And why is everyone enter cutting as Amateur?
Thanks for your time.
New to ShowHorse
0 Total Votes | Votes from premium users carry more weight.
 GaylanStudio
Family Account Owner

Family Account Owner
8/20/2016 8:06:00 PM reply with quote send message to GaylanStudio Object to Post

Hello and welcome to ShowHorse.

Any horse any age can enter any event at the amateur level and yes you should use that to build experience for both you and the horse.

In Pro there is no age issue for halter competition, however for both EP and WP the age for Pro is 2 years and up, and for Cutting it is 3 years and up. This is based on the biological age (they age on the same day of the month as they were born), not the official age (which changes on the first of the month). Breeding age however is based on the official age (2 years). (I always feel this is such a strange inconsistency, but whatever.)